Dreams

 

“I want to show you something.” he says, gazing outside.

“Ok.” I mumble curiously, moving in for a closer look. There is certainly plenty to see here.

This is a true paradise teeming with every type of exotic plant and flower imaginable. 

Five years ago with the World in crisis and suddenly experiencing his own -his divorce and the demise of his business, he landed here with only his horse and his trumpet, and began again as caretaker of this beautiful estate in Southwesern France.

I met him only a few weeks ago.

From this small kitchen window I can see the stables, his beautiful black horse Lupin, and his horses pet and best friend, the donkey Jo Jo. From this same spot I enjoy watching the young peacocks chase each other, jockeying for coveted position of most dominate.

I can’t help but laugh out loud when I see and hear JaJa the miniature rooster, half the size of the fluffy hens, who clearly has « little rooster syndrome » and the cocky attitude to go with it.

I wonder what he wants to show me ? 

He points out 3 ropes barracading the horses from the prairie. “Do you see the 2 ropes, one on each side of the one in the middle ?”

Yes, I can see them. They look like normal ropes to me.

“Do you see the one in the middle ?”

“Yes. It’s lovely,” I laugh. “It’s nice and white.”

“Yes it is. It is new. I have never used it before today. I have been saving it for 4 years.”

“Do you see that tree?”he continues, pointing in the other direction.

My heart starts to race. I nod. I cannot say a word.

“I have been saving this rope for the day I might want to use it on that tree.” He falls silent.

Dizzy from the weight of words he had not dared to say out loud and paralyzed where I am, I can do nothing but stare transfixed at the tall magnificent tree. 

After several moments of silences he says quietly. “Today, because of you, I know no matter what happens I can carry on and I can be loved again, When I got up this morning I decided this rope will only be used for work.”

……

“But I, being poor, have only my dreams. I have spread my dreams under your feet; 

tread softly because you tread on my dreams.” – William Butler Yeats

Leave a comment